State laws regulate the maximum check cashing fees that can be charged, which is typically a percentage of the check amount.
For example, in California, the maximum fee is 3% for 3% on government checks and 3.5% on payroll checks, while in New York it’s just 2%.
However, depending on the retailer, you may be able to get a lower rate. The check type and total dollar amount also affect the fee.
Generally, the check-cashing fees can range from 2% to 10% of the total check amount.
So, if you’re looking to cash a check, it’s best to do your research and compare rates before heading to the nearest retailer.
You may be able to save yourself some money by going to a store that charges a lower fee.
The state you live in may also have laws regulating check-cashing fees, so be sure to familiarize yourself with those before you go.
It’s best to also have your ID like a driver’s license on hand, as most retailers will ask to see it before cashing your check.
Check Cashing Fees Chart By State
As of 2022, in the United States, only 25 states have laws that restrict the check-cashing fees charged by any financial institution.
Here’s a table showing the maximum chargeable fees by check type in each state –
|STATE||Personal Checks||Payroll Checks||Government Checks|
|Arizona||–||–||3% of the total check amount|
|Illinois||1.5% to 3.5%||1.5% to 3.5%||1.5% to 3.5%|
From the table above, it’s very clear that West Virginia is the state with the lowest check-cashing fees. In West Virginia, the maximum fee you will have to pay is 1% of the total check amount.
And, most importantly, the West Virginia state law rules that financial institutions like banks, credit unions, retail stores, and check cashing stores must not charge more than $1 for checks with a value less than or equal to $100.
Places Where You Can Cash Checks
You can cash a check at a variety of places including banks, retail stores, third-party financial institutions, apps, etc., but the fee will vary.
Some locations, like grocery stores, offer lower fees for customers who have a membership card while other locations, like banks and credit unions, generally have lower fees for customers with an account.
So, it’s worth checking around to see where you can get the best deal.
Visiting a place that offers a lower fee may be worth it, even if it takes a bit longer to process your check.
However, it’s important to remember that not all places offer the same services, so make sure to read the check-cashing policy before heading to your chosen check-cashing spot.
Every retail store or financial institution sets its own policies for check-cashing, so it’s important to be aware of what is required before you go.
Generally, you will need to provide valid identification and the original check. Some places may also require the signature on the back of the check to be verified.
In addition, some locations may only cash checks up to a certain amount, so be sure to ask before you head over. These check cashing policies include, but are not limited to:
- The amount of the check
- The type of check (personal, business, cashier’s, third-party, etc)
- The date the check was written
- The ID required
List of places that cash checks and fees charged –
As per Walmart’s check-cashing policy, you are allowed to cash checks up to $7,500 during tax season.
During the normal months, you can cash a check as large as $5,000 at any Walmart nearby.
But, the actual limit may be lower at your local Walmart store.
The maximum cashable limit is also subject to change, so please check with the Walmart near you before you try to cash a large check.
- $4 for pre-printed checks up to $1,000
- $8 for checks over $1,000
- $6 for Two-party checks
ACE Cash Express
As per ACE Cash Express’s check-cashing policy, the fees for cashing a check range from 2% to 10%. This fee depends on the type of check being cashed.
In order to cash a check at ACE Cash Express, carrying a government-issued ID and a Social Security number is mandatory, along with filling out a personal information card.
The check must also be unsigned by the individual seeking to cash it. So, you will have to sign the check in front of the ACE Cash Express employee.
- 10% for personal checks
- 2% to 6% for payroll checks
- 2% to 4% for government checks
- 10% on money orders
As per PayPal’s check-cashing policy, you can cash a check online by submitting a photo of it to PayPal for review.
If the check is approved, you can choose to have the money credited to your PayPal account immediately (with a fee) or within 10 days (no fee).
- Free (cleared within 10 business days)
- 5% (Instant Deposit)
Note that PayPal charges a minimum check-cashing fee of $5 regardless of the total check amount. And also, remember that PayPal doesn’t have any physical stores that cash checks.
According to Amscot’s check-cashing policy, you should expect to pay a minimum of $3 to cash a check.
You will also need to provide a valid, government-issued photo ID like a passport or a driver’s license.
Branch hours vary depending on the location but they generally operate from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. Monday through Friday.
During the weekend, hours are typically from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Saturdays and 10 a.m. to 8 p.m on Sundays.
However, your local branch may have different hours as some are open 24 hours.
- 9.9% for personal checks
- 4.5% for payroll checks
- 1.9% for government checks
- 9.9% for money orders
- 2.5% for tax refund checks
- 3.9% for cashier’s checks
- 3.9% for insurance checks
- 4.5% for handwritten checks
Please note that different Amscot locations have different fees. However, the above rates are the ones that are charged by most branches.
The percentage of fees that Amscot charges changes with the check’s value.
For example, you will be charged 3.9% on insurance checks worth up to $4,999.99 while the fee is 4.9% on checks worth over $5,000.
The same rule applies to other check types Amscot cashes.
As per the check-cashing policy of Chase bank, account holders of the bank do not need to show any identification for cashing checks.
Non-account holders, however, are required to present valid photo identification in order to cash checks.
The acceptable forms of photo identification vary depending on the amount of the check being cashed.
For example, a driver’s license is acceptable for checks up to $500, but a Social Security card is required for checks over $500.
At times, Chase may also require verification of the customer’s address. In such a case, a utility bill in the customer’s name is generally accepted.
- Free for Chase customers
- $8 for all check types
- Free for insurance checks
So, if you have a large check to cash, it’s best to visit a Chase branch near you as it charges a flat fee of $8 regardless of the check amount.
The Check Cashing Store
Cashing a check at The Check Cashing Store typically costs 3.5% of the check’s value, though this may vary depending on location.
The company’s policy requires customers to present a valid photo ID for verification.
It’s best to contact a local Check Cashing Store for more specific information about check-cashing fees, requirements, and limits.
- 10% for personal checks
- 5% for payroll checks
- 3% for government checks
- 3% for insurance checks
Kmart is one cheap place for cashing checks. As per the company’s policy, it charges a fee of $1 or less for the same.
Further, the amount that can be cashed differs by location but is usually between $500 and $2,000.
The retailer makes use of the check verification company Certegy to ascertain the validity of checks.
So, you are required to provide some identification to cash a check at Kmart. A driver’s license or passport should suffice.
Check-cashing hours at Kmart stores also vary, but you can generally expect them to be open from 9 a.m. to 10 p.m.
- $1 for all check types up to $2,000
- $1 for two-party checks up to $500
- $1 for personal checks up to $500
- $0.50 per check in Illinois and Rhode Island states
So, if you already have a Kmart membership, it’s best to cash checks at a Kmart near you as the fee is very low compared to all other places.